top of page
  • bakingjosie1

Purple Sweet Potato Donuts (Kuih Keria)

I love this sweet potato donut a lot but I've never attempted to make them until now. I guess I have always thought they they were really difficult to make especially the sugar glaze but it is actually one of the easiest snacks that I have ever made!


I wasn't even planning to do anything today except rest as I had woke up to a headache this morning and it didn't really go away even after resting all day. But me being me, by 5:00 PM, I just couldn't keep still anymore and had to make something! This literally took me about 20 mins to put together and the result is a super cool looking and yummy snack!


Ingredients (makes 6)

For donuts:

250g sweet potatoes, peeled, steamed and mashed

15g tapioca flour

30g all-purpose flour

oil for frying


For the glaze:

100g granulated sugar

35 ml water


1. Peel and cut sweet potatoes into chunks. Place in a microwavable bowl with 1/4 cup water. Steam for 3 mins and check if the sweet potatoes are soft enough to mash. If not steam for another 1 min then mash the sweet potatoes.

2. Mix all the ingredients for the dough in a large bowl till a smooth dough is formed.

3. Divide dough into 6 equal portions. Roll into balls and make a hole in the centre of each ball just like a regular donut.

4. Deep fry till golden brown. Remove and drain on paper towels.

5. In a saucepan, melt sugar and water for the glaze and cook till slightly thickened. Turn off the heat and add all the fried donuts. Keep stirring till all the sugar has dried up and the donuts are frosted with the sugar.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Baking Josie. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • TikTok
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
bottom of page