top of page
  • bakingjosie1

Espresso Sandwich Cookies

For my cookie jar this week are these Espresso Sandwich Cookies. The recipe is adapted from the Coffee Sandwich Cookies by Anina.


These are very easy to make spritz cookies sandwiched with a yummy espresso buttercream. I had to tweak the recipe as the original one didn't work for me as the dough was too wet and didn't come together as a dough firm enough to put into a cookie press. I also reduced the amount of sugar as there is also golden syrup in the recipe. I had a bit of a technical issue with my cookie press (time to buy a new one!) so the designs didn't come out as nice as I would like them to but I really like these crunchy and flavorful cookies that are sandwiched with a simple and yummy espresso buttercream. You don't have to make the buttercream if you prefer a less sweet cookie as the cookies already taste good on their own especially if you like crunchy cookies like I do! However, I will use a food processor the next time I make these cookies to make things even easier.


Below is my tweaked recipe and here is my 1 min TikTok and Instagram video on my process.


Ingredients:

For the cookies:

All purpose flour 320 g

Baking soda 1/4 tsp

Butter 125 g, softened

Pinch of salt

Sugar 160 g

Instant espresso powder 2 tsp, dissolve in 30 ml hot water

Golden syrup 1/2 cup

Vanilla extract 1/2 tsp


For the Buttercream:

Icing sugar 230 g

Butter 80 g, softened

Instant espresso powder 1 tsp, dissolve in 2 tsps hot water.


  1. Preheat oven to 180C.

  2. In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking soda and salt.

  3. Add butter and rub together till mixture resembles breadcrumbs.

  4. In a large measuring jug, add coffee, sugar, golden syrup and vanilla extract. and mix well. Add this to flour mixture and combine to form a dough.

  5. Place dough in cookie press with a design of your choice. Press into an un-greased baking tray.

  6. Bake for 10 mins. Remove from oven and cool completely.

  7. Prepare buttercream filling - Whisk butter till light and fluffy. Add icing sugar and coffee. Continue to whisk till buttercream is fluffy.

  8. Spread buttercream onto cooled cookie and sandwich with another cookie.

Home is where the cookies are!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Baking Josie. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • TikTok
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
bottom of page