top of page
  • bakingjosie1

No-Bake Nanaimo Bars

One of Canada's favorite and most popular dessert is Nanaimo Bars. I've seen so many people making these recently and they look so yummy, that I had to try them for myself.


They are super delicious, super easy to make. Trust me. It will be something that I will make again and again! I love the coconutty and crunchy cookie crust, the yummy custard-buttercream middle and of course the dark chocolate on top which compliments this sweet dessert 100%!


The main draw for me to make them was:


1. It was no-bake and

2. I already had all the ingredients to make them in my pantry.


I did a little research and found the recipe from Nanaimo.com (it has to be the best and authentic right?) and the Youtube video from Anti-Chef Cooks The World - Cooking Canada to be straightforward and simple.


However, I did make some adjustments to the ingredients based on what I already had in my pantry, to suit my family's palate and adapted it to make it even more simple. You're welcome! Here is my 1-min TikTok & Instagram video on my process.


The recipe below is the original recipe from the website and the changes I made are in (brackets).


Ingredients:

Bottom Layer (Cookie crust)

Unsalted butter, European style cultured 1/2 cup / 125 g (I used salted)

Sugar 1/4 cup / 50 g

Cocoa 5 tbsp / 75 g

Egg 1, lightly beaten

Graham Cracker Crumbs 1 3/4 cups (I used Marie Biscuit crumbs)

Almonds 1/2 cup, finely chopped (I used ground almonds)

Desiccated coconut 1 cup


Second Layer (Custard):

Unsalted butter 1/2 cup / 125 g (I used salted)

Cream 2 Tbsp. and 2 Tsp / 40 ml

Bird's Vanilla Custard Powder 2 Tbsp / 30 g

Icing sugar 2 cups / 500 g (I used about 1 3/4 cups)


Third Layer (Chocolate Ganache)

Semi-sweet chocolate 4 oz / 113 g (I used Lindt Excellence 70% Dark)

Unsalted butter 2 Tbsp / 30 g

  1. Melt first 3 ingredients in top of double boiler. Add egg and stir to cook and thicken. Remove from heat. Press firmly into an ungreased 8" x 8" lined pan.

  2. Cream butter, cream, custard powder and icing sugar together well till light and fluffy. Spread over bottom layer.

  3. In a microwave safe bowl, microwave chocolate and butter for 30 secs, stir then microwave for another 30 secs. Cool slightly then pour over second layer.

  4. Chill in fridge for at least 2 hours. Cut into bars and serve.


"Don't you want a piece of me?"

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Baking Josie. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • TikTok
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
bottom of page